How Many Countries is There in Europe?

How many countries is there in Europe? Today there are a total of 49 countries and territories in Europe, but this continent has not always existed. Has Europe always existed? As a political and geographical entity, Europe is not even very old.

There are four natural borders in Europe in the form of the Arctic Ocean, the Mediterranean, the Atlantic and the Ural Mountains. But in the past, an ocean was not to be considered a natural boundary, but rather something that united people.

Europe after World War II

What happened after the end of World War II? The year was 1945 and Europe was in ruins, both in terms of development and purely moral and ethical. Nazism was still widespread and it was recognized that something drastic had to be done so that Europe would not fall victim to further wars and conflicts.

But how could you protect yourself? Well, by collaborating. In 1947, therefore, the “International Committee of European Unity Movements” was formed with the aim of promoting a united Europe. From the movement, an institution for even better organized European cooperation emerged. That institution was called the Council of Europe.

Modern Europe

Modern Europe is well developed, with road networks and means of transport connecting the countries of the world with each other in a way that did not exist a thousand years ago. The Mediterranean area was cleared early to give way to roads mainly south, while the Alps remained a natural border to the north.

Modern Europe

So many countries are on the Europe list

The list below presents all European countries including the capital, official language and national day. To see detailed information of each country in Europe, please visit countryaah.

The countries of Europe

Capital: Tirana
Official language: Albanian
National Day: 28/11

Capital: Andorra la Vella
Official language: Catalan
National Day: 8/9

Capital: Brussels
Official language: Dutch, French and German
National Day: 21/7

Bosnia and Herzegovina
Capital: Sarajevo
Official language: Bosnian, Croatian and Serbian
National Day: 25/11

Capital: Sofia
Official language: Bulgarian
National Day: 3/3

Capital: Nicosia
Official language: Greek, Turkish
National Day: 1/10

Capital: Copenhagen
Official language: Danish
National Day: 5/6

Capital: Tallinn
Official language: Estonian
National Day: 24/2

Capital: Helsinki
Official language: Finnish
National Day: 6/12

Capital: Paris
Official language: French
National Day: 14/7

Faroe Islands
Capital: Tórshavn
Official language: Faroese and Danish
National Day: 29/7

Capital: Gibraltar Town
Official language: English
National Day: 10/9

Capital: Athens
Official language: Greek
National Day: 25/3

Capital: Dublin
Official language: Irish, English
National Day: 17/3

Capital: Reykjavík
Official language: Icelandic
National Day: 17/6

Capital: Rome
Official language: Italian
National Day: 2/6

Capital: Pristina
Official language: Albanian and Serbian
National Day: 17/2

Capital: Zagreb
Official language: Croatian
National Day: 25/6

Capital: Riga
Official language: Latvian
National Day: 18/11

Capital: Vaduz
Official language: German
National Day: 15/8

Capital: Vilnius
Official language: Lithuanian
National Day: 16/2

Capital: Luxembourg
Official language: Luxembourg, French and German
National Day: 23/6

Capital: Skopje
Official language: Macedonian, Albanian
National Day: 8/9

Capital: Valletta
Official language: Maltese, English
National Day: 21/9

Capital: Chișinău
Official language: Romanian, Russian, Ukrainian
National Day: 27/8

Capital: Monaco
Official language: French
National Day: 19/11

Capital: Podgorica
Official language: Montenegrin
National Day: 13/7

Capital: Amsterdam
Official language: Dutch
National Day: 5/5

Capital: Oslo
Official language: Norwegian
National Day: 17/5

Capital: Warsaw
Official language: Polish
National Day: 3/5

Capital: Lisbon
Official language: Portuguese
National Day: 10/6

Capital: Bucharest
Official language: Romanian
National Day: 1/12

Capital: Moscow
Official language: Russian
National Day: 12/6

San Marino
Capital: San Marino
Official language: Italian
National Day: 3/9

Capital: Bern
Official language: German, French and Italian
National Day: 1/8

Capital: Belgrade
Official language: Serbian
National Day: 15/2

Capital: Bratislava
Official language: Slovak
National Day: 1/9

Capital: Ljubljana
Official language: Slovenian
National Day: 25/6

Capital: Madrid
Official language: Spanish
National Day: 12/10

United Kingdom
Capital: London
Official language: English
National Day: Wales 1/3, Ireland 17/3, England 23/4, Scotland 30/11

Capital: Stockholm
Official language: Swedish
National Day: 6/6

Czech Republic
Capital: Prague
Official language: Czech
National Day: 28/10

Capital: Ankara
Official language: Turkish
National Day: 29/10

Capital: Berlin
Official language: German
National Day: 3/10

Capital: Kiev
Official language: Ukrainian
National Day: 24/8

Capital: Budapest
Official language: Hungarian
National Day: 15/3

Vatican City
Capital: Vatican City
Official language: Italian
National Day: 13/3

Capital: Minsk
Official language: Russian and Belarusian
National Day: 3/7

Capital: Vienna
Official language: German
National Day: 26/10

Profiles of Some European Countries

Latvia – Central Europe

Latvia is a state in Europe. The capital of the country is Riga. Approx. 2.0 million Latvians, Latvians of other nationalities, live in Latvia. The official language is Latvian. Latvia covers an area of ​​around 65,000 km² and is therefore around twice the size of Belgium. Neighboring countries are the Russian Federation, Belarus, Lithuania and Estonia.

Latvia Flag and Map

Liechtenstein – Central Europe

Liechtenstein is a state in Europe. The capital of the country is Vaduz. Approx. 38,000 Liechtenstein citizens of other nationalities live in Liechtenstein. The official language is German. Liechtenstein covers an area of ​​around 160 km². Neighboring countries are the Republic of Austria and Switzerland.

Liechtenstein Flag and Map

Lithuania – Central Europe

Lithuania is a state in Europe. The capital of the country is Vilnius. About 2.9 million Lithuanians, Lithuanians of other nationalities, live in Lithuania. The official language is Lithuanian. Lithuania covers an area of ​​around 65,000 km² and is therefore around twice the size of Belgium. Neighboring countries are the Russian Federation, Poland, Belarus and Latvia.

Lithuania Flag and Map

Macedonia – Southeast Europe

Macedonia is a state in Europe. The capital of the country is Skopje. Around 2.1 million Macedonians, Macedonians and people of other nationalities, live in Macedonia. The official language is Macedonian. Macedonia covers an area of ​​around 26,000 km². Neighboring countries are Greece, Bulgaria, Serbia, Albania and Kosovo.

Macedonia Flag and Map

Moldova – Southeast Europe

Moldova is a state in Europe. The capital of the country is Chisinau. About 3.6 million Moldovans, Moldovans of other nationalities, live in Moldova. The official language is Romanian. Moldova covers an area of ​​around 34,000 km² and is therefore somewhat larger than Belgium. Neighboring countries are Ukraine and Romania.

Moldova Flag and Map 2