Coins, Dimensions and Weight in Denmark

The coin denomination

The currency unit is the Danish krone (currency code DKK) of 100 øre. 50 cents and 1, 2, 5, 10 and 20 kroner were minted; banknotes denominations are 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1000 kroner.

Of the older coins in Denmark are especially noticeable species (NOK 4), the krantan dollar (NOK 3.26, from 1794 NOK 3.20), and the Riksbank dollar (NOK 2), which were valid means of payment in 1813–74. See also the valleys. In 1875 Denmark with the coin coin went into gold coin foothills. Of 1 kg of fine gold was minted 2480 kroner. Denmark left the gold coin base in 1931.

The Danish central bank can trace its origins back to 1736, when the first banknote, The Copenhagen Assignations, Vexel and Laanebank, was founded. Later, the bank is known as the Kurantbanken and the Nationalbank. By law of 1936, the private equity bank Danmarks Nationalbank was converted into a self-owned institution, Danmarks Nationalbank, with a foundation fund of NOK 50 million.

Denmark has participated in the EU exchange rate mechanism ERM (Exchange Rate Mechanism) since its inception in 1979.

Denmark Coins

Weights and Measures

The metric system was introduced in Denmark by the 1907 Act, and made mandatory from April 1, 1910. Some older targets and designations were also in use later: foot (0.314 m), cubit = 2 foot, embryo = 3 cubit (1.88 m), mile = 24,000 feet (7533 m), and barrel land (5.5162 daa). Pounds and cents represent (after 1839) ½ kg and 50 kg respectively.